Gala concert. Antonio Vivaldi “The Four Seasons”

“The Four Seasons” by Antonio Vivaldi, one of the most popular opuses of classical music that has experienced countless arrangements and interpretations worldwide, will once again conclude the “International Early Music Festival". The four violin concertos in the cycle were first published in 1725 in a collection entitled “The Contest Between Harmony and Invention” (Il Cimento dell′ Armonia e dell′ Inventione). Indeed, there is no shortage of harmony or invention in this music, for Vivaldi took great pleasure in painting scenes from nature and everyday life and writing down their verbal transcription in the score. The temperament and colourfulness encoded in the composition unleash the performers' imagination, but it also requires brilliant playing technique and lively musicality. This time, the brilliant violinist Roberts Balanas will prove this in collaboration with Sinfonietta Rīga!
Endowed with a richly flourishing international career and a passionate tone, the youngest of the Balanas dynasty has been living in London for several years now and performing not only on world-famous stages but also in places without a trace of elite glamour. The virtuoso has attracted particular attention for his insatiable desire to break down the boundaries between musical genres, sometimes replacing the classical violin with the electric one and adventurously “refreshing” classics with pop and rock elements, thus earning even Sir Elton John's praise! And alongside Vivaldi, conductor Andris Veismanis, well-established in early and baroque music repertoire, and the experienced chamber orchestra will also highlight other musical gems of the 17th and 18th centuries.

Due to the weather, there are no changes in the course of the concert. In case of rain, plastic raincoats will be issued to all visitors. Umbrellas may not be brought into the event area. If the weather poses a threat to the safety of musicians or visitors, the concert will be suspended until appropriate weather conditions appear.



Georg Philipp Telemann Orchestral Suite in D major TWV 55:D18 
Nicola Antonio Porpora Aria Alto giove from opera “Polifemo”, violin solo Magdalēna Geka
George Frideric Handel Suite from the opera "Hercules" HWV 60
Jean Philippe Rameau Suite from the opera “Les Boréades” RCT 31
Jean Philippe Rameau Fragments from the opera “Naïs” RCT 49 
Jean Philippe Rameau Fragments from the opera “Acante et Céphise" RCT 29
Antonio Vivaldi Concerto Cycle For Solo Violin, Strings And Continuo “The Four Seasons” op. 8


Roberts BALANAS, violin
Sinfonietta Rīga 
Conductor Andris VEISMANIS

To top