Brahms and Fauré’s piano quartets

For the string quartet, the leader is usually thought to be the violin, while the heart and soul of the piano quartet is frequently the piano. For the professor of the London Royal Academy of Music and the Geneva HEM higher education establishment Diana Ketler, playing in a chamber and ensemble setting is one of her most important creative outlets. Alongside her educational work, solo concertos and taking care of the chamber music festivals she founded in Bavaria and Bucharest, she is also a sought-after guest in world-class chamber music events, performing in Europe and Japan. She has impeccable taste, a near-magic talent in ensemble performance, brilliant technique with fantastic experience and a clear calling for chamber music – thus Diana Ketler and her co-founded ensemble Raro is described in the international press.
The Autumn Chamber Music festival will hear Raro perform the golden classics – Johannes Brahms’ Gypsy rhythm and Hungarian melody-filled Piano concerto No 1, delightfully complemented by the Romanian classic George Enescu’s Romanian Rhapsody No 1, originally composed for an orchestra, but instrumented for a piano quartet here. Ant the romantically frantic Gabriel Fauré’s emotion-filled Piano Quartet No 1 will be balanced by the reservedly ascetic and quiet Rudens Ainavas (Autumn Landscape).



Johannes Brahms - Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
¬Gabriel Fauré' - Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15
George Enescu – Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A major (arranged by Thomas Wally)
Georgs Pelēcis - Rudens ainavas (Autumn Landscape)


Ensemble Raro
Boris Brovtsyn, violin
Razvan Popovici, viola
Justus Grimm, cello
Diana Ketler, piano

To top