Beethoven’s Septet and Adès’s Arcadiana

For the third year, Sinfonietta Rīga invites audiences to come together under the emerald-green August sky. The white nights of June have gone and, instead of midday heat, we look forward to the appetizing smell of a freshly baked apple pie. Small form music – deeply personal and already full of longing for the passing summer – belongs to this time of the year. We invite you to enjoy chamber music masterpieces from various eras, performed by the wonderful soloists of Sinfonietta Rīga, and not yet think about the autumn for a moment.

Each of the three concerts of the Summer Night Chamber Music series paints a version of a perfect August night. The first, on 26 August, is the night of Beethoven's harmonies and Adès's Arcadian mysteries. The second, on 27 August, tells of the soulful Eastern lyricism and yearning creative spirit. And finally, on 28 August, the Baltic stars will illuminate the ships of future dreams and boats of past sorrows among the waves of the still warm northern sea.

Art historian and exhibition curator Inga Šteimane, who is also a professionally trained pianist, will introduce the common themes linking the music of the Summer Night concerts and visual art of the corresponding eras.




Thomas Adès (1971)
Arcadiana op. 12
I. Venezia notturna
II. Das klinget so herrlich, das klinget so schön
III. Auf dem Wasser zu singen
IV. Et... (tango mortale)
V. L'Embarquement
VI. O Albion
VII. Lethe

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Septet in E-flat major for clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, and double bass, op. 20 (dedicated to the Empress Maria Theresa)
I. Adagio – Allegro con brio
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Tempo di menuetto
IV. Tema con variazioni: Andante
V. Scherzo: Allegro molto e vivace
VI. Andante con moto alla marcia


Marta Spārniņa, violin
Liene Neija-Kalniņa, violin
Ineta Abakuka, viola
Madara Norbūte, cello

Guntis Kuzma, clarinet
Artūrs Šults, horn
Elza Rubene, bassoon
Agnese Kanniņa, violin
Ivars Brīnums, viola
Māra Botmane, cello
Viktors Stankevičs, double bass

To top